Long-term rental registration Task Force


The Task Force was appointed by the Town Council in December 2021 and charged with developing a registration program for long-term (more than 30 days) rentals. The Town Council supports the 2019 Housing Policy Framework, which includes a strategy to ensure quality rental housing by developing a rental property maintenance licensing and inspection ordinance.

In August of 2022, the Task Force presented findings and recommendations to the Town Council, leading to the adoption of Chapter 130, a new Short-Term Rental Housing Ordinance. The Task Force will pause meeting until January 2024 when they will reconvene to review the results of data gathered from registration of LTR housing in 2023. They will meet as necessary to develop recommendations to the Town Council on an inspection component and any other elements of Chapter 130.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.  Minutes are available following approval.

View All Agendas and Minutes


Additional Information

Long Term Rental Program Webpage 
Task Force Roles and Responsibilities 
Remote Participation Policy

Long-Term Rental Registration Task Force monthly meeting - Thursday, April 7, 2022 at 4 PM

On Thursday, April 7, 2022 at 4 PM the Long-Term Rental Registration Task Force will hold its regularly scheduled monthly meeting in the 2nd floor Council Chambers of the Municipal Building at 93 Cottage Street.

Anyone with questions about how to participate in the meeting should contact the Planning and Code Enforcement Department by calling 207-288-3329.

Amber Howard, Tenant
Erica Brooks, Landlord
Heidi Hambrecht, Tenant
Jennifer Richardson, Resident at Large
John Mountford, Housing Authority
Phil Galperin, Resident at Large
Todd Hardy, (Landlord) Chairperson
Joseph Minutolo, (Town Council) Vice Chair

Angela Chamberlain, Code Enforcement Officer
Matt Bartlett, Fire Chief
Michele Gagnon, Town Planner

Contact the Long Term Rental Task Force via email: ltr@barharbormaine.gov

Please note: Sending an email to this address will go to all members of the task force or committee listed above, as well as town staff members in the Planning and Code Enforcement office: Planning Director Michele Gagnon, Code Enforcement Officer Angela Chamberlain, Deputy Code Enforcement Officer Mike Gurtler, Assistant Planner Steve Fuller and Administrative Assistant Tammy DesJardin.

Any message sent to this email address is also considered a public record and may be subject to a request under the Maine Freedom of Access Act. Information that you wish to keep confidential should not be included in email correspondence to this address.

Contact information for individual members is not provided, as anything sent to individual member(s) and not all parties involved may constitute exparte communication.